Retaking LSAT after 6 years

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
FormerCorpsman

Retaking LSAT after 6 years

Postby FormerCorpsman » Thu May 09, 2013 5:28 pm

To all,

I took the LSAT in 2007 with no guidance by anyone on what to do. Needless to say that my first experience was quite abhorrent. This event killed my passion for even pursuing such a course of action. However, after gaining more experience and education, I have come to the conclusion that law school is the route I wish to pursue. Now my question. Exactly how bad will a negative test score, taken on a whim, hinder my opportunities for law school? We are talking 140s, if I remember correctly.

Here is a little bit about my background. I am a veteran with extensive experience in the Middle East. Upon complete of my military obligation, I enrolled for university studies. I obtained a BA in Middle Eastern Studies/Arabic and procure a GPA of 3.82. As part of this program, I traveled to various countries of the Middle East: Egypt, Jordan, and Israel. Outside of the program, I've traveled to Iraq, Kuwait, Japan, and Syria. At the moment I am working on a masters degree in Classic (Ancient Latin and Greek). Current GPA is a 4.0.

By the time I retake the LSAT, it will have been seven years since I took the last. I am not quite sure whether or not the admissions committees will look at the score or not. My goal is the University of Texas Law School. I would like to evince my appreciation beforehand of any responses I might receive.

Thanks!

Dr. Dre

Re: Retaking LSAT after 6 years

Postby Dr. Dre » Thu May 09, 2013 7:53 pm

A 3.82 is fantastic. Law schools will not care about an LSAT score you took 7 years ago. I don't think they have access to it.

study the manhattan lsat bundles, retake, get into UT with $$, profit

stephenholder

Postby stephenholder » Thu May 09, 2013 8:03 pm

Edit.
Last edited by stephenholder on Mon Oct 28, 2013 2:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ex Cearulo