Graduating senior with a job offer- deciding # of gap years? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
apzakarian

New

Graduating senior with a job offer- deciding # of gap years?

Post by apzakarian » Wed May 08, 2013 11:46 am

Hi all-

I'm graduating this month from a top university with a 3.48 and with an offer lined up in the field of energy consulting and was wondering whether applying next fall with 1 year + 3 months of experience is preferable to applying this fall with only 3 months of work experience. I would also be promoted within a year, which can probably look good for admissions/employers if I were to apply next fall. This job involves project management as well as interaction with clients and private/public entities, so I am definitely going to take it since it is applicable to energy law. I definitely want to attend law school, but I am unsure whether taking an extra year will give me an advantage. I am studying for the LSAT and aiming for T15 schools, preferably in California.

Is it worth it to wait the extra year and gain the experience? Would it make a difference in terms of admissions? What about employment after law school?

Thanks for any and all help, comments, and questions.

stillwater

Gold

Re: Graduating senior with a job offer- deciding # of gap years?

Post by stillwater » Wed May 08, 2013 12:01 pm

Don't rush into it man. Law school will always be there. I personally think you'll be better for it to take 2-3 years off and build some real-world experience

PRgradBYU

Silver

Post by PRgradBYU » Wed May 08, 2013 1:32 pm

apzakarian wrote:I am studying for the LSAT and aiming for T15 schools, preferably in California.
*T14
apzakarian wrote:Is it worth it to wait the extra year and gain the experience? Would it make a difference in terms of admissions? What about employment after law school?