Law school or financial planner

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
tbird

Law school or financial planner

Postby tbird » Mon May 06, 2013 2:36 am

My situation is a choice between a top 25 regional with an 80% tuition scholarship, and a career as a financial advisor. I have an engineering degree and don't enjoy it, but have connections with a few ip firms as well as a few companies and their in house ip guys. I think there is a good chance I get a job doing prosecution post law school. The other option is a business connection that is a one man show and has an independent financial planning firm. I really trust the guy and would like to work for him. He is recruiting me strongly saying that he wants an apprentice and is looking for someone to sell the business to. His current income is over half a million per year so I think I could make more money with the planning, but wonder which career will be more enjoyable/challenging. I also think finance will give me a better family life and time with the kids, but worry that having no control over the market could drive me crazy. i see pros and cons to both. I am looking for constructive inputs and opinions. Thanks.

Re: Law school or financial planner

Postby 20141023 » Mon May 06, 2013 3:08 am

Last edited by 20141023 on Mon Feb 16, 2015 12:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

Lumieres

Postby Lumieres » Mon May 06, 2013 10:01 am

law school will always be around. give the job a shot. if it doesn't work out, you'll know what to do.

Danger Zone

Postby Danger Zone » Mon May 06, 2013 10:04 am

Lumieres wrote:law school will always be around. give the job a shot. if it doesn't work out, you'll know what to do.