Requiem for a 0L: A Cold Feet Post

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
born4law

Requiem for a 0L: A Cold Feet Post

Postby born4law » Wed Apr 24, 2013 6:38 pm

I'm an incoming T14 student with a lot of trepidation about law school. As it fast approaches, I can't help but question everything that's led me here.

I've always been passionate about tech startups since I was a kid. Out of fear and laziness, I avoided learning STEM knowledge throughout high school, college, and afterward, and now that I'm about to start law school, I'm beginning to question: would I still be going to law school had I sat my ass down years ago and taken math and science more seriously?

I've also realized now that my prior reasons for wanting to go to law school were childish and ill-informed. I just wanted to move to a new city, keep going to school for the sake of learning, prestige, networking, and so on.

Since then I've realized that those were just the fantasies of a 22 year old who simply didn't know any better. I hadn't taken those truly tough classes, spent the extra hours in the library, and sometimes sacrificed high grades for learning something of value. All those reasons to want to go to law school were the wrong reasons. Now that I've come upon the right reasons to attend, I'm questioning, "Do I really want to attend? Is this what's good for me?"

After visiting so many schools across the country, talking with the students, browsing TLS, reading the doom-and-gloom articles and books, I've gained a full understanding of what the degree and the profession entail. Law school isn't grad school. You don't learn the fundamental truths of some important topic, conducting research and giving talks and teaching others. You're ascending into a vocation, a trade. You're going to service clients, often on very hard timetables that are so demanding of all your time and energy that your personal life will suffer as well.