Work on the Hill or Study for the LSAT?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Praetor_

Work on the Hill or Study for the LSAT?

Postby Praetor_ » Wed Apr 17, 2013 1:59 pm

Hello everyone. Long time reader and first time commenter here.

Recently, I was offered a position to work in a Capitol Hill Leadership office as an assistant. My duties would include answering phones, meeting guests, and providing secretarial assistance to the staff. I'm currently an intern who only planned to live in Washington for one semester. I plan on taking the entire summer to study for the October LSAT and completing my applications in the fall. This new offer has caused me to reconsider my plans, and I could use your advice.

Do I accept the assistant position or do I study for the LSAT? I plan on applying to T-14 schools, and I am just wondering what would be a more beneficial use of my time. Currently, I don't think it would be possible for me to properly balance a full-time position and studying for the test.

What would you suggest that I do? Is work experience really necessary to get into a T-14? Do I need to take a year off?

My ultimate goal is to become an attorney, and I don't see myself working on the Hill; however, this would be a great experience.
I'm not sure if this will influence your advice, but I am an URM with a high GPA.

Thanks

eyfl

Re: Work on the Hill or Study for the LSAT?

Postby eyfl » Wed Apr 17, 2013 2:16 pm

Best = do both. Lost of people have done this, LSAT is very doable with only 1-2 hours per day + 4-5 hours on Sat/Sun for 3-4 months.

2nd best = kill the LSAT. Being an URM w/ high GPA & LSAT will guarantee you a spot almost everywhere no matter W/E.

JamMasterJ

Postby JamMasterJ » Wed Apr 17, 2013 2:19 pm

literally 1 extra LSAT point is better than almost every single possible job experience.

SFSpartan

Postby SFSpartan » Wed Apr 17, 2013 2:22 pm