Are my softs sufficient? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Irundistance

New

Are my softs sufficient?

Post by Irundistance » Thu Apr 04, 2013 10:55 pm

Hi all,
I plan on applying to law schools this Fall. I know that softs are important, so I wanted some feedback from you all if mine are sufficient. I'm an African-American male, currently a junior at a state university in California; my GPA is about a 3.75, Sociology major. I volunteered at a hospital for 1.5 years and have been on my junior college's and university's Cross country and track teams since my Freshman year. I've been on the academic all-state teams, and recieved numerous athletic and academic awards/scholarships from my junior college. Also I'm a first-generation college student. Should I do more to stand out or is this sufficent? I'd appreciate any feedback!

*Haven't taken the LSAT yet, plan on taking it in October

bananapeanutbutter

Bronze

Re: Are my softs sufficient?

Post by bananapeanutbutter » Thu Apr 04, 2013 10:59 pm

Softs are largely just a way for law schools to comply with the ruling in Grutter, and a red herring. Just get a good LSAT and stay at a 3.75.

Irundistance

New

Post by Irundistance » Thu Apr 04, 2013 11:00 pm

Thanks!

buddyt

Silver

Post by buddyt » Thu Apr 04, 2013 11:01 pm

Irundistance wrote:Hi all,
I plan on applying to law schools this Fall. I know that softs are important, so I wanted some feedback from you all if mine are sufficient. I'm an African-American male, currently a junior at a state university in California;