High School student: Undergrad advice

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Flacco4815

High School student: Undergrad advice

Postby Flacco4815 » Sat Mar 30, 2013 4:02 pm

Hello, everyone this is my first time posting and I've looked at these forums for a long time as I contemplate a career in law. Just to clear things up, I know how bad the market is now, how crushing debt can be and how soul sucking big law can be. I do appreciate these topics on this as they have made me more realistic. I have a few general questions as I enter undergrad:

I live in Maryland and will be attending either UMBC (a lower ranked well-respected regional school) or Maryland-College Park the state flagship. at UMBC, I have a 10k scholarship so I can graduate with either no debt or very little. At College Park, I would have to take out loans. I know the general consensus is undergrad does not matter just maximize GPA. I plan to shoot for HYS or a big scholly at another t14, so would UMBC (about half as much and can still get me job experience in Baltimore/DC/Annapolis) be smarter than College Park?

As I mentioned earlier, I live in Maryland and I do plan to stay here career wise. Since I want to make a good amount of money, I know these means big law or mid-law in Baltimore or DC. DC gets discussed on here quite often about the difficulty of landing it, but I haven't been able to find anything about good ole Baltimore. I would not have a problem working in either city but was just curious about the Baltimore market. I assume it's small I know some large firms (Venable, DLA Piper) have offices there and I know there are some midlaw firms with solid low 6 figure salary (I currently intern at a political consulting firm so I often do research on attorneys and law firms there)

tl;dr : more prestigious undergrad school that's close to DC, or scholarship at a smaller state school that's still close located in the DC-Baltimore quarter, and what is the Baltimore market like?