Change Of Employment

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
cricketlove00

Change Of Employment

Postby cricketlove00 » Tue Mar 05, 2013 11:42 am

I'm hoping this doesn't come off as whiny --

Currently I work as a probation officer for misdemeanor and traffic cases in FL. I'm 24 and am currently studying for the LSAT - hoping to apply this year. I currently go to court a lot and meet a lot of attorneys. Through this job I've developed some really strong ties. However, the pay is utterly miserable. It's hard to make ends meet.

The other day SAO called me and invited me to apply for a lowly clerk desk job. Here's the thing: it pays more. Also, the stress of being a probation officer wouldn't be there anymore. The catch is that I'd be tied to a desk all day (which I don't terribly mind) - that means I probably wouldn't be able to network outside of the SAO.

I have personal reasons for wanting both jobs -- but what I really want to know is 1) will taking a step back professionally (from P.O. to admin assistant) hurt my resume at all, in regards to admissions? and 2) do you think it's totally detrimental not to be able to network with judges/defense attorneys anymore?

Any advice is welcome.

stuckinthemiddle

Re: Change Of Employment

Postby stuckinthemiddle » Tue Mar 05, 2013 11:55 am

No and no. Do what you feel like doing.

cricketlove00

Postby cricketlove00 » Tue Mar 05, 2013 11:59 am

stuckinthemiddle wrote:No and no. Do what you feel like doing.

Thanks. I figured it was basically LSAT/GPA and that's about it.

I think I may switch - if I'm less stressed I may be able to study more for LSAT.

Dr. Dre

Postby Dr. Dre » Tue Mar 05, 2013 12:21 pm

cricketlove00 wrote:
I currently go to court a lot and meet a lot of attorneys.

no one cares...

now for the important things: what is your UGPA and what are you scoring on your practice tests?

cricketlove00

Postby cricketlove00 » Tue Mar 05, 2013 1:33 pm

Dr. Dre wrote:
cricketlove00 wrote: