LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
User avatar
holmesboy
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 6:05 am

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby holmesboy » Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:58 am

wannabelawstudent wrote:
wannabelawstudent wrote:Guys....its just a server problem that's blacking out the site in some regions. Its working fine for a majority of the people and LSAC has always had their .org. what you're bidding in is the waitlist in the event it ever comes available. You can do the same for espn.com on that site.



Can you make your font a little larger? I couldn't read what you wrote the first two times.

wannabelawstudent
Posts: 2588
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 7:33 pm

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby wannabelawstudent » Wed Feb 27, 2013 5:10 am

holmesboy wrote:
wannabelawstudent wrote:
wannabelawstudent wrote:Guys....its just a server problem that's blacking out the site in some regions. Its working fine for a majority of the people and LSAC has always had their .org. what you're bidding in is the waitlist in the event it ever comes available. You can do the same for espn.com on that site.



Can you make your font a little larger? I couldn't read what you wrote the first two times.

There ya go. I made it red too

Just
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 8:25 am

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby Just » Wed Feb 27, 2013 7:58 am

What should we in these regions do...

User avatar
WhiteyCakes
Posts: 1390
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:38 pm

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby WhiteyCakes » Wed Feb 27, 2013 8:39 am

Just wrote:What should we in these regions do...


Stop complaining for starters

Just
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 8:25 am

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby Just » Wed Feb 27, 2013 8:54 am

WhiteyCakes wrote:
Just wrote:What should we in these regions do...


Stop complaining for starters


People ask that for suggestions that are actually helpful. Maybe you don't need to use LSAC anymore, we still do.

User avatar
Bildungsroman
Posts: 5548
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 2:42 pm

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby Bildungsroman » Wed Feb 27, 2013 9:12 am

Just wrote:
WhiteyCakes wrote:
Just wrote:What should we in these regions do...


Stop complaining for starters


People ask that for suggestions that are actually helpful. Maybe you don't need to use LSAC anymore, we still do.

Hopefully by late February you're either done using LSAC or not even started.

User avatar
haus
Posts: 2832
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 11:07 am

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby haus » Wed Feb 27, 2013 9:23 am

Just wrote:What should we in these regions do...

You can manually populate your host file with the IP address for lsac.org or you can set your computer to an alternate DNS server that still knows the address for lsac.org, such as Google's public DNS ( 8.8.8.8 ).

Or you can wait.

User avatar
MikeSpivey
Posts: 2608
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 4:28 pm

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby MikeSpivey » Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:08 am

WhiteyCakes wrote:
Just wrote:What should we in these regions do...


Stop complaining for starters


By the power of GraySkull don't do that. It's the best way to get acclimated to law school.

jeffyl00b
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 12:10 am

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby jeffyl00b » Wed Feb 27, 2013 12:07 pm

For the fees they charge on their 'outsourced' operation, I don't accept excuses and workarounds. What type of hookey operation is this?

gfd973
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 7:36 pm

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby gfd973 » Wed Feb 27, 2013 12:43 pm

haus wrote:
Just wrote:What should we in these regions do...

You can manually populate your host file with the IP address for lsac.org or you can set your computer to an alternate DNS server that still knows the address for lsac.org, such as Google's public DNS ( 8.8.8.8 ).

Or you can wait.


Can you clarify how to do this using command prompt/terminal?

User avatar
TripTrip
Posts: 2739
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 9:52 am

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby TripTrip » Wed Feb 27, 2013 12:52 pm

You can also proxy in using a server from a region where LSAC is up.

Just google "proxy." It might take some trial and error to find one that will let you login, though.

jeffyl00b
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 12:10 am

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby jeffyl00b » Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:06 pm

No no no no no. You people spend money, you shouldn't have to figure out how to do their work for them and find workarounds. It's not a free service.

Excuse the outburst, but when you get older, and find that every company and employee makes you do their job at least once or more, you stop being so forgiving and being taken advantage of.

There's a reason this skit exists.

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=little+britain+computer+says+no&oq=little+britain+computer+says+no&gs_l=youtube.3..0l10.2978.2978.0.3125.1.1.0.0.0.0.117.117.0j1.1.0...0.0...1ac.1.xiGc-Oqqplo Pick anyone you want.

Doesn't matter if it's walmart, discover card, or lsac.

User avatar
haus
Posts: 2832
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 11:07 am

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby haus » Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:31 pm

jeffyl00b wrote:No no no no no. You people spend money, you shouldn't have to figure out how to do their work for them and find workarounds. It's not a free service.

Excuse the outburst, but when you get older, and find that every company and employee makes you do their job at least once or more, you stop being so forgiving and being taken advantage of.

There's a reason this skit exists.

(Removed link) Pick anyone you want.

Doesn't matter if it's walmart, discover card, or lsac.

The when you get older stick does not compute with referencing YouTube videos to make your point.

Things break. If you put in the time to know the basics of how things work you can at times resolve problems for yourself. Or you can be that guy that sits around and bitches about things. The choice is yours.
Last edited by haus on Wed Feb 27, 2013 2:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
haus
Posts: 2832
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 11:07 am

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby haus » Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:36 pm

gfd973 wrote:
haus wrote:
Just wrote:What should we in these regions do...

You can manually populate your host file with the IP address for lsac.org or you can set your computer to an alternate DNS server that still knows the address for lsac.org, such as Google's public DNS ( 8.8.8.8 ).

Or you can wait.


Can you clarify how to do this using command prompt/terminal?

For either these suggestions you will need admin level privileges on your system.

The process is different on various operating systems, google can be your friend here, but if you tell me your OS I will try to help out.

ETA: the proxy option mentioned above can be a good workaround esp. For those without admin rights.
Last edited by haus on Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
TripTrip
Posts: 2739
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 9:52 am

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby TripTrip » Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:39 pm

jeffyl00b wrote:No no no no no. You people spend money, you shouldn't have to figure out how to do their work for them and find workarounds. It's not a free service.

Excuse the outburst, but when you get older, and find that every company and employee makes you do their job at least once or more, you stop being so forgiving and being taken advantage of.

This has nothing to do with "doing LSAC's job for them." There's a server problem somewhere, which likely is out of LSAC's control, causing some to not be able to access the site. Somebody somewhere is working on it.

Complaining is akin to complaining that you can't use your gym membership because the gym closed for the day due to a gas leak.

wannabelawstudent
Posts: 2588
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 7:33 pm

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby wannabelawstudent » Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:58 pm

The LSAC is suggesting restarting your computer to fix the problem

User avatar
viz-luv
Posts: 116
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:30 pm

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby viz-luv » Wed Feb 27, 2013 2:36 pm

There has been some luck by using https://os.lsac.org/Release/Logon/Access.aspx

User avatar
MikeSpivey
Posts: 2608
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 4:28 pm

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby MikeSpivey » Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:45 pm

wannabelawstudent wrote:
MikeSpivey wrote:
wannabelawstudent wrote:
MikeSpivey wrote:Maybe their robot that delivers their mail (I joke not--unless they ditched it in the last few years) went berserk and took over their headquarters?

Did they name the robot?


LSAC-3PO

Just kidding, that's about the worst thing I have ever said in my life. I think they did, can't remember it. If you really want to know I can find out.

I just want to know if its a human name like "Sally" or "Joe" or something more roboty like "Mailatron 3000", do you remember if it's along those lines?


I jumped off of my conference call because of this breaking news. It's name is "Flash". I heard start from LSAC.

wannabelawstudent
Posts: 2588
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 7:33 pm

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby wannabelawstudent » Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:57 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

fredmerz
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 3:57 pm

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby fredmerz » Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:59 pm

If anyone is still having trouble (I was) someone on Reddit posted instructions that worked for me...
http://www.reddit.com/r/LSAT/comments/199hl0/so_the_lsac_forgot_to_renew_their_domain/

jeffyl00b
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 12:10 am

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby jeffyl00b » Wed Feb 27, 2013 5:17 pm

This has nothing to do with "doing LSAC's job for them."


Their job is to get their information systems working. Posting to us workarounds, instructions, and how to links is akin to making bulletin workarounds and doing jobs for them. For 21 bucks per forwarded digital email and every other fee to this heavily outsourced operation, this is doing their job for them.

There's a server problem somewhere, which likely is out of LSAC's control, causing some to not be able to access the site. Somebody somewhere is working on it.


Somebody "somewhere" is the key point. They're either not working hard enough, or some other company(this is the most likely situation) is refusing to take blame and we have the typical computer blame game going back and forth with everyone caught in the middle.

You've just done their PR job for them however. congratulations. Any other excuses to make them, or their slow and unresponsive business partners look good?

When they knock the 17 dollars off their CAS fees, which was the price 2 years ago(or was it one year go) or make it free, I'll start installing things and googling for work arounds. You people spend too much money for such a serious and "official" service to waste your days figuring out workarounds to lesson their need for haste.

User avatar
LSAT Blog
Posts: 1262
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 9:24 pm

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby LSAT Blog » Wed Feb 27, 2013 5:20 pm


User avatar
haus
Posts: 2832
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 11:07 am

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby haus » Wed Feb 27, 2013 5:39 pm

jeffyl00b wrote:
This has nothing to do with "doing LSAC's job for them."


Their job is to get their information systems working. Posting to us workarounds, instructions, and how to links is akin to making bulletin workarounds and doing jobs for them. For 21 bucks per forwarded digital email and every other fee to this heavily outsourced operation, this is doing their job for them.

There's a server problem somewhere, which likely is out of LSAC's control, causing some to not be able to access the site. Somebody somewhere is working on it.


Somebody "somewhere" is the key point. They're either not working hard enough, or some other company(this is the most likely situation) is refusing to take blame and we have the typical computer blame game going back and forth with everyone caught in the middle.

You've just done their PR job for them however. congratulations. Any other excuses to make them, or their slow and unresponsive business partners look good?

When they knock the 17 dollars off their CAS fees, which was the price 2 years ago(or was it one year go) or make it free, I'll start installing things and googling for work arounds. You people spend too much money for such a serious and "official" service to waste your days figuring out workarounds to lesson their need for haste.

Are you done whining yet?

User avatar
TripTrip
Posts: 2739
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 9:52 am

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby TripTrip » Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:17 pm

jeffyl00b wrote:
This has nothing to do with "doing LSAC's job for them."


Their job is to get their information systems working. Posting to us workarounds, instructions, and how to links is akin to making bulletin workarounds and doing jobs for them. For 21 bucks per forwarded digital email and every other fee to this heavily outsourced operation, this is doing their job for them.

There's a server problem somewhere, which likely is out of LSAC's control, causing some to not be able to access the site. Somebody somewhere is working on it.


Somebody "somewhere" is the key point. They're either not working hard enough, or some other company(this is the most likely situation) is refusing to take blame and we have the typical computer blame game going back and forth with everyone caught in the middle.

You've just done their PR job for them however. congratulations. Any other excuses to make them, or their slow and unresponsive business partners look good?

When they knock the 17 dollars off their CAS fees, which was the price 2 years ago(or was it one year go) or make it free, I'll start installing things and googling for work arounds. You people spend too much money for such a serious and "official" service to waste your days figuring out workarounds to lesson their need for haste.

No, I mean LSAC literally has absolutely no control over the problem right now. The internet is a series of separate servers, not all of which (believe it or not!) are controlled by LSAC. They are handling this situation very well.

Read LSAT Blog's link if you don't believe me.

User avatar
dproduct
Posts: 4087
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:58 pm

Re: LSAC didn't purchuse their Domain

Postby dproduct » Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:55 am

kappycaft1 wrote:
nosi1 wrote:LSAC didn't purchase their Domain

Is it me or did LSAC forget to pay their domain fee?


:D




Return to “Law School Admissions Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: addie1412 and 6 guests