Should I consider Law School right now? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
albo23

New

Should I consider Law School right now?

Post by albo23 » Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:34 am

I'm an undergrad right now at Wayne State U. (Detroit, MI) with a ~3.83 LSAC GPA though 67 credits double majoring in Finance and Accounting. I have to admit I have kind of lost interest in both fields but I'm too far in to change my mind, not to mention the Detroit-area job prospects have slowed in availability and starting salaries have dropped.

I have always had Law School on the back of my mind but I never wanted to give it too much thought until I established a good GPA as it was always T14 or bust in my mind. Now that I have created a good foundation for my GPA I feel as if my opportunities have grown and now I'm looking into Law School.

Of course I haven't taken the LSAT yet, but I did score a 30 on the ACT, I don't think that is indicative of much though :lol:.

So my question is, do you recommend I stay on my path, work a job in Finance/Acctng for 5+ years and then get an MBA?
Or is it wise, with my statistics, to entertain a shot at the T14 Law Schools?

EDIT: I have not researched LS in about 3-4 years, I know the job prospects have turned for the worse but jobs all across Detroit have also declined. I would like to exit the State but with a degree at Wayne St., my opportunities are constrained.

Bronck

Gold

Re: Should I consider Law School right now?

Post by Bronck » Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:39 am

All you've really identified for us is that you've begun to lose interest in Finance & Accounting. This obviously points against staying on that path (but it's not exactly dispositive either).

It obviously doesn't hurt to study for and take the LSAT. Once you get a score, you can more sensibly evaluate your choices.

empyreanrrv

Bronze

Post by empyreanrrv » Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:45 am