Decent LSAT with low GPA, chances?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
kahooser

Decent LSAT with low GPA, chances?

Postby kahooser » Tue Feb 12, 2013 1:26 pm

I have somewhat of a weird situation that I wanted to get another opinion on. I started my undergrad in 2006, completed three semesters with a 3.9 GPA, then my fourth semester I found out I was pregnant. I panicked, found out I was beyond the withdrawal period at my school, and just left, leaving me with straight F's for the fourth semester. After I had the baby, I tried to go back to school twice at local community colleges and really just wasn't committed. I received 6 F's between those two attempts. Last summer, after having my second child, I re-committed myself to school and started at a community college. I graduated from there with a 4.0, summa cum laude. I'm now at NCSU with a 4.0 GPA as well. I'm ranked first in my class there (and before the baby was ranked among the top 10 in my class at my first undergrad school, also graduated valedictorian from my high school). Basically, I had a really tough time dealing with my unexpected pregnancy, and my LSAC-calculated GPA is going to suffer tremendously from it. Do I have a shot at getting into a lower tier school (I'm looking at Cleveland State, for example), and should I even dream about a scholarship?

My LSAT is 165, and I am pretty confident I'll graduate first in my undergrad class.

ManOfTheMinute

Re: Decent LSAT with low GPA, chances?

Postby ManOfTheMinute » Tue Feb 12, 2013 1:29 pm