GPA Question - Degree vs Cumulative Across

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
zbenson

GPA Question - Degree vs Cumulative Across

Postby zbenson » Mon Jan 21, 2013 7:28 pm

I am in a position where I have a huge gap between my degree GPA which is all classes I have taken the last 18 months (4.03) and my cumulative across (2.19) from some troubles I had in my life when attending from ages 18-21. Is this trend and straight A's since I restarted something that will allow me maybe get into some schools that I would obviously be predicted to be denied at?

Any comments or thoughts are welcome. Thanks!

ManOfTheMinute

Re: GPA Question - Degree vs Cumulative Across

Postby ManOfTheMinute » Mon Jan 21, 2013 7:35 pm

zbenson wrote:I am in a position where I have a huge gap between my degree GPA which is all classes I have taken the last 18 months (4.03) and my cumulative across (2.19) from some troubles I had in my life when attending from ages 18-21. Is this trend and straight A's since I restarted something that will allow me maybe get into some schools that I would obviously be predicted to be denied at?

If you are able to make it past the auto-ding bots, you should do much better than predictions, assuming you are able to write a good addendum about your earlier academic performance and how that shaped who you are as a person today. Also, kicking ass on the LSAT would be a big plus and would help justify your recent grades. I am in a slightly similar position, although my poor grades only lasted my first semester and were due to a medical condition and me not responding to it maturely, so I definitely HOPE that they will look in depth. Also, since your LSAC report has degree GPA and cumulative GPA on it, it's likely that huge difference will catch readers' eye and they will look to your addendum to an explanation.