International student, no academic Lors, how bad it hurts

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
IwishIknewIt

International student, no academic Lors, how bad it hurts

Postby IwishIknewIt » Sat Jan 19, 2013 9:35 am

Hi TLS,

Long time lurker here, first time post.

I am an international student. I dropped out of college at my sophomore year ( I would rather not delve into that) one year later I enrolled at a community college taking online class while working full time.

I graduated 3 years ago, I have a superior on LSAC transcript evaluation, 177 LSAT, but with no academic Lors, because I don't know any professors at the college.

Just want to know how bad that hurts? I intend to apply next cycle because of my work.

What should I do?

toothbrush

Re: International student, no academic Lors, how bad it hurts

Postby toothbrush » Sat Jan 19, 2013 10:08 am

Hello,

I'll give my insight for what it's worth.

First off, congrats on an amazing lsat score. If your gpa is decent then you're off to a great start. To your question, academic LoR's are asked for but i'm pretty sure they are not required. As such, if you exhaust every effort to contact old professors (aleast for 1 of your 2 letters) then I believe you can try to find strong employers who may know you to your intellectual capacities (if possible).

I don't know if you can succinctly say "how much it hurts" you but I think your credentials speak for their own and if you try to find strong LOR's you may be in okay shape.

dingbat

Postby dingbat » Sat Jan 19, 2013 10:52 am

toothbrush wrote:Hello,