Very Recent Arrest / Case Dismissed - T20 Chances? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
username789

New

Very Recent Arrest / Case Dismissed - T20 Chances?

Post by username789 » Wed Jan 09, 2013 4:45 am

I am planning on applying to law school next year (Fall 2014). I was recently arrested for misdemeanor 'constructive' possession of marijuana that was found when police officers raided a house party I was attending. The charge was dismissed soon after. I have no other prior criminal or arrest record of any kind.

I'm not sure how this should be addressed. I am worried that unlike most people who may have had a similar arrest/dismissal, my situation happened very recently and not during high school/undergrad (I graduated two years ago and have been regularly employed as a legal secretary) so I won't be able to make any claims that I've 'reformed' myself over time.

I know that I must disclose it if asked about any history of arrests, but I see that many apps only seem to ask for convictions (I have none). I am also aware that I must disclose this arrest to the bar when that time comes. Should I mention this arrest in an addendum if they only ask you to list convictions earlier in the application?

I am worried now that this arrest will eliminate any chances of getting into a T20 school. I have a 3.8 GPA and 154 LSAT (not the best I know) but I am planning on taking the LSAT again and have been scoring in the low 160s in my practice tests. I also have great LORs and a unique life story (overcoming family issues) that is the focus of my PS.

Thank you for your input on this matter,

Nova

Platinum

Re: Very Recent Arrest / Case Dismissed - T20 Chances?

Post by Nova » Wed Jan 09, 2013 5:03 am