Should I write an addendum?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
UFKage

Should I write an addendum?

Postby UFKage » Tue Jan 08, 2013 6:54 am

I graduated in 2006 with a 3.5, but I have a semester withdrawal from the fall semester of 2003 (fraternity pledge semester...).

I'm a little older and a lot wiser now and I certainly don't take my responsibilities as lightly as I did when I was 19. I've since served 5 years in the military, further impressing on me the importance of self-discipline, and I want to make sure the AdComms know that now, at 30, I'm a lot more dedicated than I was when I was in school.

Would this scenario justify an addendum?

Thanks

Ramius

Re: Should I write an addendum?

Postby Ramius » Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:06 am

UFKage wrote:I graduated in 2006 with a 3.5, but I have a semester withdrawal from the fall semester of 2003 (fraternity pledge semester...).

I'm a little older and a lot wiser now and I certainly don't take my responsibilities as lightly as I did when I was 19. I've since served 5 years in the military, further impressing on me the importance of self-discipline, and I want to make sure the AdComms know that now, at 30, I'm a lot more dedicated than I was when I was in school.

Would this scenario justify an addendum?

Thanks

It could help, but generally speaking the further you get away from your uGPA, the less it'll matter. Most adcomms will look at your accomplishments since that GPA to determine your level of growth, so I'm not sure an addendum will do anything other than showcase the fact that you don't like your GPA.

Write it if you want, but use some discretion in how it is worded, because it could end up biting you in the ass.

UFKage

Postby UFKage » Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:16 am

matthewsean85 wrote: