Native/ Fluent LSAT issue

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
jobegood

Native/ Fluent LSAT issue

Postby jobegood » Mon Dec 31, 2012 8:29 am

Hi,

I took the LSAT last December and like all of us I'm anxiously waiting for the results. I'm an international student from France, finishing up a bachelor in political science in a UC university with a 3.8 GPA (top 6% of my graduating class). On the LSAT answer sheet there was 1. Are you an English native speaker: Yes/No
2. Are you fluent in English: Yes/ No
I answered no to both questions, although I certainly am what we can call a "fluent speaker" (did fresh, soph, jun and now senior)
The LSAT is already a hard standardized exam but for a non native speaker parts like the Reading comps are a NIGHTMARE.
My questions to you is that, since I'm certain to get a score in btw 145 and 150 (even though I studied seriously for 3 month and took the TM course), will the fact that I'm neither a native (for real) nor fluent (at least on paper) influence my chance of admissions.
In other words, will the admission committees take into consideration that as a non native speaker is it fairly normal that I score less at the LSAT?

It's very confusing because few international student ever pass the LSAT, pre-law advisers at school and online often have no experience with this kind of case.

I think it would be very misleading to judge my admission solely based on a "not so good" LSAT when I have an outstanding GPA and other +'s (like many other Americans and internationals)

Best,

Nova

Re: Native/ Fluent LSAT issue

Postby Nova » Mon Dec 31, 2012 9:25 am

I'm an international student from France, finishing up a bachelor in political science in a UC university with a 3.8 GPA (top 6% of my graduating class).

Congrats. thats great.