Don't want to be a lawyer, applying to law school...

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
JMU

Don't want to be a lawyer, applying to law school...

Postby JMU » Fri Dec 28, 2012 5:51 pm

Opinions? Am I an idiot?

Basically, being a lawyer does not interest me. I want a JD (from a top 20 or so school) because it opens doors that my undergrad will not. Don't get me wrong, I like law. I've taken several undergrad law classes (business and copyright) and they were very interesting and I did very well (and yes, I realize they don't compare to law school). I also enjoy studying for the LSAT and I am a strong writer.

I am interested in pursuing lobbying, consulting, public or international relations, and possibly politics. I know racking up large loans just for a generic JD is dumb, which is why I would only consider attending a top school.

Anyone else have similar ambitions? Being a career lawyer just doesn't appeal to me. I'm graduating in Spring 2013 with a BBA from a good public university, I will work a minimum of 1 year before applying to enroll in the Fall 2014 semester at a law school. My GPA should allow me to get into a school like Georgetown based on myLSN numbers, provided I do well on the LSAT (which I know I can).

Tom Joad

Re: Don't want to be a lawyer, applying to law school...

Postby Tom Joad » Fri Dec 28, 2012 5:53 pm

Sounds dumb unless you have a full ride, but even then, there are probably more productive ways to spend 3 years of your mid twenties.

Icculus

Postby Icculus » Fri Dec 28, 2012 5:58 pm

Tom Joad wrote:Sounds dumb unless you have a full ride, but even then, there are probably more productive ways to spend 3 years of your mid twenties.

There are easier and cheaper ways to get into these fields w/out wasting 3 years and tons of money on law school. Only go to law school if you want to be a lawyer.

WanderingPondering

Postby WanderingPondering » Fri Dec 28, 2012 6:00 pm