Help: Opinion on a Gap year

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
UndecidedUndergrad

Help: Opinion on a Gap year

Postby UndecidedUndergrad » Mon Dec 10, 2012 4:23 pm

Today, as I was attempting to get a letter of recommendation from one of my professors, it hit me that I may not want to go to law school, at least, not immediately.

Backstory: I'm an undergraduate at a California State University school, and am going to graduate in May. I took the LSAT in October (2012), and got extremely screwed during the logic games section (specifically, the subzone series of questions). This section was a total loss and the mental anguish of the logic games section had a negative effect on my final section. I ended up receiving a 146, better than I thought thanks to the first two sections saving my bacon, as I wanted to cancel immediately, fearing I received something in the 120s, but ultimately never did. My father, an attorney suggested I take the february 2013 LSAT, in hopes of receiving a better score. I am not sure what my GPA will be when I graduate, but it will be higher than a 3.33 (current), but will likely be lower than a 3.6. I haven't completed any apps yet, and am just now attempting to get letters of recommendation.

The timeline for Fall apps in a majority of the schools I'm applying to (restricting the list to Southern California) seems to be working against me, and I feel that it may be too late for me to successfully be admitted into any of the schools I will be applying for because of it.