Undergrad work/volunteering

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
brobar

Undergrad work/volunteering

Postby brobar » Fri Nov 30, 2012 1:44 pm

Any advice on where I should work or volunteer during my undergrad? I'm going back to school next Fall to complete my computer science degree. I'll have about 2 1/2 - 3 years to complete my degree. I'll have the luxury of not having to work (I put my wife through pharmacy school and now she is putting me through law school)... which is a great luxury to have and will allow me to truly devote myself to my schoolwork. I've got lots of life/work experience with 6 years in the Armed Forces as well as 9 years (will be 10 come next Fall) of web applications engineering work for two different companies. I don't have much, if any, volunteer work (since we have both been so busy, we tend to donate money instead of time), though I'm willing to change that.

Any advice on if I should work or volunteer or both during my undergrad? And if so... examples of where?

Thanks kindly!

ph14

Re: Undergrad work/volunteering

Postby ph14 » Fri Nov 30, 2012 2:08 pm

brobar wrote:Any advice on where I should work or volunteer during my undergrad? I'm going back to school next Fall to complete my computer science degree. I'll have about 2 1/2 - 3 years to complete my degree. I'll have the luxury of not having to work (I put my wife through pharmacy school and now she is putting me through law school)... which is a great luxury to have and will allow me to truly devote myself to my schoolwork. I've got lots of life/work experience with 6 years in the Armed Forces as well as 9 years (will be 10 come next Fall) of web applications engineering work for two different companies. I don't have much, if any, volunteer work (since we have both been so busy, we tend to donate money instead of time), though I'm willing to change that.

Any advice on if I should work or volunteer or both during my undergrad? And if so... examples of where?