PhD in economics and scholarship experience?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Economist Erik

PhD in economics and scholarship experience?

Postby Economist Erik » Wed Nov 28, 2012 3:10 pm

Hi all,
I have a PhD in economics from Northwestern University (ranked #7 among econ PhD programs), and have published a number of articles on legal issues such as antitrust and intellectual property, some in legal journals and one in a legal textbook. Essentially all of my research has been on legal subjects. I also garnered a 3.99 GPA as an undergrad.

My question is this: Will my prior experience allow me to gain admittance to an elite program without achieving an elite LSAT score?

I ask because I do not have much time to study the LSAT, nor am I particularly motivated to do this...

Any comments would be greatly appreciated!

florida1949

Re: PhD in economics and scholarship experience?

Postby florida1949 » Wed Nov 28, 2012 3:29 pm

What would you consider elite? Have you taken a diagnostic?

Economist Erik

Postby Economist Erik » Wed Nov 28, 2012 3:43 pm

florida1949 wrote:What would you consider elite? Have you taken a diagnostic?

Based on what I've done so far, I think I'd score in the 160-165 range if I took the test today.

florida1949

Postby florida1949 » Wed Nov 28, 2012 3:50 pm

Economist Erik wrote:

Based on what I've done so far, I think I'd score in the 160-165 range if I took the test today.

If you score in that range, you would (very likely) not get into what I would consider 'elite' schools unless you are a URM.

Fitz51

Postby Fitz51 » Wed Nov 28, 2012 3:52 pm

Economist Erik wrote:

I think the consensus is going to be that it's possible, but you'll be praying the entire way.

No matter how much it hurts going through it, if you get the score up to 170, you have a shot at Yale.

sinfiery

Postby sinfiery » Wed Nov 28, 2012 4:05 pm