UG Summer Internships

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
swag

UG Summer Internships

Postby swag » Wed Nov 28, 2012 1:05 pm

Did a search and couldn't find anything, and I hope this is in the right forum.

I'm currently a junior in undergrad hoping to go to one of the lower T14s (ideally UVA because of location). I've been lurking and posting sporadically for a while, so I understand that admission is primarily a numbers game; let's just assume my numbers are at or above median for these schools (taking the LSAT in June and my GPA is good...enough).

Here's my concern for this summer, from both an admissions standpoint and an employment standpoint once I'm out of LS:

Should I take a prestigious legal internship for the summer OR work an internship in my field of study/probable law concentration?

Through family, I have the chance to do a research internship with the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of a certain southeastern state. This is obviously a great opportunity and relevant to law school. I've also however interviewed and continue to interview for internships with companies relevant to my major (I'm a finance major, so companies like B of A, GE Capital, Merrill Lynch, etc). Which, if either, would mean more to a law school admissions committee? Which would mean more to an employer once 1L internships roll around and beyond?

As a final note, understand that I am fairly dedicated to law school, but I also have no experience with the legal field and would like to explore it before committing completely.

Swimp

Re: UG Summer Internships

Postby Swimp » Wed Nov 28, 2012 1:27 pm

swag wrote:Did a search and couldn't find anything, and I hope this is in the right forum.