What are my chances for admission with these circumstances

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
cherylann

What are my chances for admission with these circumstances

Postby cherylann » Tue Nov 20, 2012 3:20 pm

My undergraduate gpa is 3.3 and I scored a 170 on the LSAT. I know some would agree that those statistics are somewhat prospective, but here is where the dilemma arises:

I am in my 20s, however I have been battling cancer for several years, which I have finally beaten. There have been quite a few semesters in the course of my undergraduate career where I had to take straight Withdrawals for medical reasons. They are non-punitive W's and didnt effect my gpa. Let me also, add after that difficult time, I have at least 4 solid semesters after that of 4.0 gpa's.

I expect that with quite a number of withdrawals that I am going to be drastically at a significant disadvantage in the applications process. Because wouldnt even someone with a 2.5 gpa and 170 LSAT be looked at more favorably since they might have zero Withdrawals?

Is there anyone out there that has been in my boat, where they have a respectable gpa (3.3), great LSAT score (170), upward trend in grades (4 semesters of 4.0) but have many withdrawals?

What would be my chances at a Tier 1 or Tier 2 school given this entire academic record?

sinfiery

Re: What are my chances for admission with these circumstances

Postby sinfiery » Tue Nov 20, 2012 3:22 pm

cherylann wrote:I expect that with quite a number of withdrawals that I am going to be drastically at a significant disadvantage in the applications process.

Nope, they don't care.

I am curious if a GPA addendum for your situation might actually help your application.

Goodluck.

gspiel1232

Postby gspiel1232 » Tue Nov 20, 2012 3:24 pm

Nope...law schools care about the gpa listed...

You are going to get some great schools!

You'll hit some t14s...uva, gulc, um, Cornell all look good

BlueJeanBaby