Application timeline question: Before or after retake.

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
RyanP

Application timeline question: Before or after retake.

Postby RyanP » Fri Nov 16, 2012 5:56 pm

Hello, all. I want to say sorry in advance if this topic has been covered, but I'm very anxious for an answer and wanted to provide as many specific details as I could to get as tailored advice as possible.

I'm a senior at a small, public university. My major is Economics/Finance with a minor in Accounting. My top school choice is Duke, as I'm really interested in their Joint JD/MA in Economics. I have a 4.0 and received a 164 on the LSAT in Oct (I had been PTing few places higher, but believe "gameday nerves" got to me.) Because of my low LSAT score, I decided to retake in DEC before applying to Duke, sending out my application the day I got back my scores.

I recently received a fee waiver via email from Duke. Today, I got a package from them with a catalog and restating the fee waiver and an invitation to visit the law school. I also know that waiting later pushes your chances back, and so am caught in a hard decision. Should I apply now, or wait until after retake? I appreciate all advice! Feel free to speak plainly.

P.S. Here are my softs; not sure if they'll help.

Member of my college's honors program, and inductee into two national honors societies.
Coordinator of Teachers Assistants (first year they've had the position; chosen by the Dean).
Student Senator
Winner of three top ten finishes at PBL national business competitions, including Economics.
Letters written by my advisor, thesis advisor, and Dean of my school.
Non-URM
Last edited by RyanP on Fri Nov 16, 2012 6:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MarcusAurelius

Re: Application timeline question: Before or after retake.

Postby MarcusAurelius » Fri Nov 16, 2012 6:29 pm

To be honest I don't think Duke cares about whether you're the son of a former evangelist or not

RyanP