Should I put new job position on my resume?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
shinobi99

Should I put new job position on my resume?

Postby shinobi99 » Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:17 pm

I quit my previous job couple months ago to study for the LSAT and recently found a great new job. At this point, I was wondering whether I should include the new job in my law school application resume. At first it was a no-brainer to include it, but after thinking about it, I was wondering whether the admission committee would see it negatively since it means I will work there less than a year if I choose to go to law school. What are your thoughts? I'm a software engineer and the new job is at a famous software company so I think it would help my resume. But as I mentioned before, I wonder what the admission committee will think...

jrsbaseball5

Re: Should I put new job position on my resume?

Postby jrsbaseball5 » Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:35 pm

Have you been out of school for awhile? If you have and you don't put it they might wonder what you've been doing with your life.

shinobi99

Postby shinobi99 » Fri Nov 16, 2012 12:03 am

I have been out of school for several years. I have been working ever since graduation until several months ago when I quit my job to study for the LSAT. I did think it might be strange if I don't have anything put down from now until next Fall. But I have side projects that I am working on so one plan was to talk about that in the application and not really discuss about my job situation. However, I wonder if actually putting the new job on my resume would be the best idea even if the admission committee can see that I will only be there for less than a year if I go to law school.

Aqualibrium

Postby Aqualibrium » Fri Nov 16, 2012 12:31 am