Submit Apps or Wait for Study Abroad Transcript?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
emzizzle

Submit Apps or Wait for Study Abroad Transcript?

Postby emzizzle » Tue Nov 13, 2012 8:40 pm

So I've got my LORs in and my PS is done. I can basically pull the trigger and submit all my apps, except my transcript from my study abroad school hasn't come in yet--I studied there for a semester--and I'm not sure when that transcript will get to LSAC. It could take over a month, because my UK school is notoriously slow about these things. Should I just submit all my apps on LSAC now, or wait for the transcript to come in?

My gut reaction is that the earlier, the better to submit--but then I stumbled across this quote from Columbia:

Columbia: Many of the all too common mistakes we see appear to have been discussed. The most important comment that I can make is not to overlook any part of your application. You simply do not know which aspect the reviewer will focus on the most—it often is not the numbers. For example, the importance of recommendation letters is sometimes underestimated, especially if you are a current student or recent graduate. If you belong in either category, you should definitely include a recommendation letter from an instructor who has been in a position to evaluate your work—not your hockey coach (unless that is supplemental), not a family friend who also happens to be a lawyer—but an instructor. Another component that is often neglected is the transcripts. Transcripts should be as complete as possible, meaning that if you have studied abroad, for example, and those grades are not included in your current institution’s transcripts, you should request them from the foreign school or risk delaying a decision.

The whole post is here: https://www.law.umich.edu/connection/a2 ... aspx?ID=20

Thoughts? Suggestions? Should I submit all? Or all except Columbia? Wait on all? Does anyone else have this dilemma?