J.D. or Free Master's Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

M.A. in Spanish or J.D.

Poll ended at Thu Nov 22, 2012 3:41 pm

M.A. in Spanish
48%
J.D.
52%

Total votes: 21

MarineLaw

New

J.D. or Free Master's

Post by MarineLaw » Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:41 pm

Free Spanish M.A. or law degree?
Last edited by MarineLaw on Mon Dec 30, 2013 10:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dingbat

Gold

Re: J.D. or Free Master's

Post by dingbat » Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:42 pm

Do both?

kingsfield69

Bronze

Post by kingsfield69 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:53 pm

dingbat wrote:Do both?
What s/he said. I'm sure you could work with both the graduate school and the law school to combine a degree...or at the very least, perhaps concentrate in Int'l/Comparative Law with credit for some Spanish language courses. Firms are employing increasing numbers of lawyers in Europe, and you could unlock your post-USMC dream job if you do this right.

BTW: I'm a retiring AF officer heading to law school. Wish you all the best.

MarineLaw

New

Post by MarineLaw » Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:57 pm

I don't think I'll have enough time.
Last edited by MarineLaw on Mon Dec 30, 2013 10:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Swimp

Bronze

Post by Swimp » Mon Nov 12, 2012 4:40 pm

As far as I know, the market for Humanities PhDs is just as bad if not worse than the legal market. Getting a MA in Spanish seems a little crazy to me when the alternative is a law degree. If you went the Spanish route, would the ultimate goal be to teach Spanish at a university?

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

CO2016YEAH

Silver

Post by CO2016YEAH » Mon Nov 12, 2012 5:04 pm

MarineLaw wrote:Hello!

I'm a Marine officer and will be working as an adjunct professor at Marquette for the next three years while I'm making my normal Captain's pay.