NU JD/MBA vs NU Law Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
HawkeyeGirl

Bronze

NU JD/MBA vs NU Law

Post by HawkeyeGirl » Sun Nov 04, 2012 5:27 pm

Stats: I took the October LSAT and felt that I massively underperformed getting a 169. I was PTing in the high 170s. Retaking in December. My GPA is 3.67 and my GMAT is 680. I'm a female investment banking analyst with 2 years work experience.

I just want to be a lawyer, but I feel like I have a better chance of admission at NU applying through the JD/MBA program which uses Kellogg's admissions folks. I certainly think an MBA would be helpful so it wouldn't be a waste. But it is significantly more expensive and with my GMAT and LSAT, I'm not looking at any money. The JD/MBA program is only 25% female, so I will absolutely get a boost for being a girl. My concern about getting into the JD/MBA is my experience (only 2 years WE, though I've heard bschools just looovvvve bankers).

The JD/MBA apps are due January 3, so it's likely I'll have my LSAT retake score back before I have to pull the trigger, but with the Sandy debacle this time around I don't feel like I can count on that.

So I just want to know what you guys think about my chances at NU Law vs. JD/MBA, I know you're not experts at MBA applications. Thanks!

CanadianWolf

Diamond

Re: NU JD/MBA vs NU Law

Post by CanadianWolf » Sun Nov 04, 2012 5:49 pm

If "massively underperformed" on the LSAT is a 169, then your thread should be titled "NU JD/MBA versus NU law on scholarship versus Harvard Law". (Assuming a successful retake.)

If you can earn both an MBA & a JD from Northwestern, then do it unless offered the same at Harvard, Stanford or Penn. Columbia, too. In which case, you have Harvard, Stanford & a three way tie among the others, in my opinion.

The issue, however, is whether or not a 680 GMAT is enough for any of those programs.

bdubs

Gold

Post by bdubs » Sun Nov 04, 2012 5:54 pm