How useful will a Civil Engineering degree be?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
togepi

How useful will a Civil Engineering degree be?

Postby togepi » Fri Oct 26, 2012 1:54 am

I have a Bachelors of Civil Engineering from a decent school. I've seen a lot of mixed opinions of how beneficial it will be for employment. I'm well aware that having EE/CS is exponentially better in terms of IP work, but if I wanted to pursue patent prosecution/litigation, am I out of luck? Also, if I wanted to pursue something non patent related, will having an engineering degree be more of a detriment? (Interviewers constantly asking me why I'm not doing IP, etc).

Thank you in advance.

(Also, I've already looked it up and I qualify for Applicant A)

Lawquacious

Re: How useful will a Civil Engineering degree be?

Postby Lawquacious » Fri Oct 26, 2012 2:25 am

togepi wrote:I have a Bachelors of Civil Engineering from a decent school. I've seen a lot of mixed opinions of how beneficial it will be for employment. I'm well aware that having EE/CS is exponentially better in terms of IP work, but if I wanted to pursue patent prosecution/litigation, am I out of luck? Also, if I wanted to pursue something non patent related, will having an engineering degree be more of a detriment? (Interviewers constantly asking me why I'm not doing IP, etc).

Thank you in advance.

I think it will help you get employment, but you've got to find employers who do work where expertise in civil engineering is relevant (e.g. construction or land use firms etc). This background probably will give you a boost IMO at many civil litigation firms, because they often have sections (or attorneys) who do this type of work, although I'm not sure how much of a boost it would be.