Fee Waiver email and acceptances

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
JesusChrist

Fee Waiver email and acceptances

Postby JesusChrist » Mon Oct 22, 2012 3:45 pm

How well does getting a fee waiver from a school correlate with an eventual acceptance? I know that a lot of people get them but surely they must have some criteria to refine the desirables from the flock. I just got one form Cal in an email and they're one of my tippy top choices.

nick_scheu

Re: Fee Waiver email and acceptances

Postby nick_scheu » Mon Oct 22, 2012 3:53 pm

I don't think there's any correlation. They both want to increase their number of high-scoring applicants, and increase their number of eventual denials.

Have you taken the LSAT yet? If so, what was your score? GPA?

I'm a Cal undergrad and didn't get the Boalt fee waiver. :-(

goldenflash19

Postby goldenflash19 » Mon Oct 22, 2012 7:38 pm

nick_scheu wrote:I don't think there's any correlation. They both want to increase their number of high-scoring applicants, and increase their number of eventual denials.

Have you taken the LSAT yet? If so, what was your score? GPA?

I'm a Cal undergrad and didn't get the Boalt fee waiver. :-(

I'm pretty sure Boalt doesn't give merit-based fee waivers.

bettercallsaul91

Postby bettercallsaul91 » Mon Oct 22, 2012 8:33 pm

x-posted from Berkeley thread

I got a fee waiver.

This letter has been sent to you as part of a pilot outreach plan to encourage students from the California State University and the University of California systems to apply to Berkeley Law School. Based on information made available from the Law School Admission Council, I believe you may be a good candidate to join the student body at University of California at Berkeley, School of Law. I write to encourage you to consider applying for admission this year and to provide you with an application fee waiver.