Late UG "F" - Good Reason?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
savedbythelsat

Late UG "F" - Good Reason?

Postby savedbythelsat » Sat Oct 20, 2012 4:53 pm

So I got an "F" in Microeconomics the semester before I graduated. It was my first and only "F" giving me a LSAT GPA of 3.13 (3.257 graduating GPA). Here is the story - I am a nontraditional student and took the course online. During the semester that I had the course I didn't have enough of the work completed to pass and during the later part of the semester, I was needed to assist with the response to the Deepwater Horizon Gulf Oil Spill (very, very unexpected demands on my time, being activated for 80+days, 12 hour days, 7 days a week kind of stuff) in my government job. I simply did not have much time to deal with school and since this occurred after the drop deadline, I failed the class. I ended up graduating the next semester with my Bachelors though.

My question is this: Based on previous experience or knowledge or just your own opinion, how would admission committees view this addendum to my GPA? Does is sound as though it is a valid excuse?

BTW, I really appreciate the kind insight everyone provides on this forum. This is truly a great place!

Scotusnerd

Re: Late UG "F" - Good Reason?

Postby Scotusnerd » Sat Oct 20, 2012 4:55 pm

Sounds like a good excuse to me.

'Sorry I got an F, I had to save the world.' :D

dingbat

Postby dingbat » Sat Oct 20, 2012 4:58 pm