Possible 2nd bac BSEE. Apply/defer/wait?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
cahwc12

Possible 2nd bac BSEE. Apply/defer/wait?

Postby cahwc12 » Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:20 pm

Some circumstances have allowed me the ability to complete a second bachelor's in electrical engineering by summer 2014 without taking on any debt. I've been heavily interested in IP (specifically patent prosecution) for a while, but lack a means to become patent bar eligible without enrolling for 3-4 classes in the spring (and only under category B). I graduated with a degree in poli sci, 95% of a math degree, and about 70% of a physics degree. (I didn't finish the math degree because it would have required an extra semester and I started a math graduate program that I later withdrew from).

I've been out of school for about 5 years, and my applications are nearly finished. That said, if I end up re-enrolling to complete this BSEE, I'll have to defer or reapply next cycle.

Based on the research I've done online and people I've talked to, it seems like investing in the degree will significantly improve my prospects for a job (as opposed to cat-B qualification akin to slightly less than a physics BS).

My numbers are 3.4/168 (retook in Oct and very optimistic). Some things I'm trying to weigh:

* Is it better to apply now, haggle for scholarships, then defer next year, or should I hold off?

* How will this cycle compare to next cycle? Will things further deflate or rebound or remain the same?

* Should I address this possibility of deferment in my application, and if so, how? (probably a death sentence to mention but unsure)