Any stigma against 4 LORs?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
cassielam

Any stigma against 4 LORs?

Postby cassielam » Sun Sep 30, 2012 11:01 pm

Aside from the 2 academic LORs I'll be getting from professors at my school within my department, I have 2 other LORs I am interested in submitting with my app. One is from the head floor attorney at the Resource Center at Los Angeles Superior Court in downtown (I was a Americorps/Justice Corps member for a year working closely with this attorney there) and the other from my employer (1 year employment, civil litigation, probate, business law centered practice where I work as a legal assistance doing more than filing and scanning and administrative stuff haha).

Just wondering if there's anything AGAINST 4 LOR even though most schools leave it to the applicant to decide whether to submit 2-4. And if so, which of the 2 LORs should I keep - the one from Justice Corps or my employer who I am quite close to and who writes very eloquently. Both will be able to speak highly of me, though I feel the Justice Corps one MIGHT be a template letter, not sure. (heard from another law school applicant friend the attorney wrote it very quickly so I'm suspicious)

Thanks a lot!

Tom Joad

Re: Any stigma against 4 LORs?

Postby Tom Joad » Sun Sep 30, 2012 11:03 pm

http://www.adcomsthatstigmatizepeoplewith4lors.edu

Doesn't look like their webpage is active. 4 LORs should be fine.

rinkrat19

Postby rinkrat19 » Sun Sep 30, 2012 11:04 pm

Unless you know that all four letters are unique in content but equally stellar in their praise of you, leave one off. There's a reason schools usally "recommend" fewer letters than they'll "accept". Adcomms are busy people and the less filler BS in your app file, the better.

Ti Malice

Postby Ti Malice » Sun Sep 30, 2012 11:13 pm