Having only one, but strong, academic recommendation Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
jmac90

New

Having only one, but strong, academic recommendation

Post by jmac90 » Mon Sep 17, 2012 3:19 pm

Hi all,

So I graduated in last May and am currently preparing for the October LSAT. I'm preparing to get my applications together and I was wondering would it hurt me to submit only one, albeit strong, recommendation that is academic, i.e from a professor. I'm pretty positive I can get a really strong good recommendation from him, seeing as I had him for Business Law during undergrad and he's written a previous recommendation for me for my study abroad semester.

However, I'm having trouble trying to find a second academic recommendation. I have one professor who I think may write me a recommendation, but I never really fostered as strong of a relationship. The class was small and I received a good grade but I'm just not sure if she would. I never really spent time outside of class with her, at least not as much as I did with the other professor. Of course, I will ask her, but I am worried that only having one recommendation from a professor may hurt my application, if worst comes to worst.

I already have two other recommendations coming from my supervisors at my internships who I knew pretty well. But, as I've been told, academic recommendations are usually better than those from previous employers.

What's the general consensus regarding recommendation letter strategy? Would only 3 letters hurt and one having only one be academic be detrimental?

Thanks!

Cobretti

Gold

Re: Having only one, but strong, academic recommendation

Post by Cobretti » Mon Sep 17, 2012 5:30 pm

I think since you just graduated in May you will probably want 2 LORs either way. If you had more WE in between you could easily get away with just 1 academic LOR, but you're a new graduate so you really don't have a choice.

bernaldiaz

Gold