Advice PLEASE: Should I take the LSAT the third time?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Aries0208

Advice PLEASE: Should I take the LSAT the third time?

Postby Aries0208 » Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:48 am

Hi Everyone,

I need some advice here. I took the LSAT twice last year (145, 149), and got accepted by Northeastern and UDC. I also got waitlisted by Harvard, but was rejected at the end. I am thinking about re-applying for next fall, and wondering if I should take the LSAT the third time. Last year, I studied hard for almost 5 months! I am not American, and English is my third language, so I definitely some have language barrier and cultural disadvantages. But I have a very interesting background, and a powerful story to tell. I currently live here in the US as a refugee and I am interesting in international justice and human rights law. I have two masters degree, and my undergrad GPA is 3.9. The LSAT is really not my strong point, and to be honest, I do not think I can improve my score significantly this time. I was thinking about focusing on my personal statement, instead of studying for the LSAT again. What do you think? Any ideas or suggestions are greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance!

WanderingPondering

Re: Advice PLEASE: Should I take the LSAT the third time?

Postby WanderingPondering » Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:58 am

How were you PTing before the test?

How did you study the first time? How did you alter your approach for the second time?

Did you apply for extra time with the LSAC?

What sections did you struggle with? Even if English isn't your first language, you should be able to do well on LG with practice and practice.

It'd be a shame to waste that 3.9 gpa, but if you can't do any better on the LSAT then you can't do any better on the LSAT. Even just scoring in the low 160s will open up the T14 for you. IMO, it'd be well worth it you think it's possible. If not, work as hard as you can at Northeastern.

Aries0208