I need advice; three options…Help guide me

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Lock74

I need advice; three options…Help guide me

Postby Lock74 » Sun Sep 09, 2012 12:09 am

My situation is somewhat unique but I am not claiming to be a special snowflake. I am looking for guidance and advice on what people would do in my situation. I am currently playing a sport at a liberal arts school and I am on a full scholarship. I have a total of 5 years of full scholarship due to being redshirted last year. I am currently in my second year of college but I am a junior in the classroom and will be receiving my first degree next year. This will allow me to have two additional years of full scholarship (free school) to obtain another degree that would not count toward my LSAC GPA, which should be a 3.9. At this point in my life, I feel out of touch with my sport and honestly, it is not as enjoyable as it was in high school. In addition, the school that I am at is nothing special and is seriously a joke. I came to my school because it was free and I could continue playing while working towards law school. It is a means to an end. The fact that I am not enjoying my sport anymore and that I graduate next year has me evaluating what I should do. I currently believe that I have three options. I am open to all suggestions. If anything needs to be cleared up, please ask me.

1) Apply to law school this time next year and enroll the following year.
2) Receive my degree next year and make the commitment to get an additional degree(something useful) over the next two remaining years of my scholarship/eligibility.
3) Graduate next year, gain some work experience as a paralegal or any relevant field in law/business for a year, and then apply to law school the following year.

Which one of these options would you go with and why? Is there any option that I am overlooking? What should I do?