How to address my trainwreck of a transcript?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
cahwc12

How to address my trainwreck of a transcript?

Postby cahwc12 » Fri Aug 31, 2012 12:47 pm

I graduated in august '08 with a 3.43 LSAC gpa

edited for anonymity

In short, the last three semesters on my transcript (all post-UG so they don't affect my UGPA) are "WD WD WD WD" "Withdrew from University" and "F F F F." (There is also a fourth semester of W's from my second semester in UG when I nearly dropped out.)

Is there any way this isn't going to bite me in the ass when I apply? Is there some addendum I can craft to explain what happened without coming off as whiny, immature, etc? I do honestly feel that I grew up a lot in the past few years living outside the US and after exploring a few alternatives, I truly feel law school is right for me and that I'm finally ready for it. That said, I just don't know how this is going to affect my cycle.

I know that it needs to be addressed, but I'm not sure how I can do it. Any advice would be highly appreciated.
Last edited by cahwc12 on Fri Aug 31, 2012 8:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jcm043

Re: How to address my trainwreck of a transcript?

Postby jcm043 » Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:09 pm

My undergraduate GPA & transcript is a train wreck. I had a former admission's dean from a school help me with my statements. on my GPA Addendum, I stated up front I was immature in undergrad and cared more about my social schedule than my academics. I think went on to talk about how I have matured since undergrad (I am four years post undergrad) and my plan to succeed in law school.

Remember: Its never the crime, its always the cover up. Be honest up front and then its no worry.

Good luck.

Jaytray

Postby Jaytray » Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:28 pm