Informal LOR from ESL speaker...should I submit it?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

Submit?

Don't submit, it's that bad
50%
Do submit, it's ok
50%
Do submit, it's better to have something for a 3 year gap
No votes

Total votes: 2

sepeterson211

Informal LOR from ESL speaker...should I submit it?

Postby sepeterson211 » Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:54 am

I work as an ESL teacher in Korea. I asked my former supervisor to write me a LOR, something that's unheard of in Korea. I showed her an example that she tried to imitate but I'm not sure if it will be helpful to my application. I'm more worried about the content than her English speaking ability. If I don't have a letter from my three years teaching in Korea, won't it be worse?

(I've edited out names and places for her anonymity.)

To whom it may concern:

I worked with *name*. She was invited for native English speakers who participate in the *town* Language Program, Korea. She came to our school for the first time. I have many good memories about her. I was in charge of the Foreign Language Center (English Town) in *county*. This center is in *School.* So, she could have a lot of chances to meet other teachers. She was very kind and very close with them. Everyone liked her, even kindergarteners.