Undergraduate Major/Degree.. Need Advice

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Chelseapaige

Undergraduate Major/Degree.. Need Advice

Postby Chelseapaige » Mon Aug 20, 2012 7:01 pm

Hello,
I am an undergraduate student that switched majors about three years in therefore it will take me 5-6 years to graduate instead of the traditional four. Do law schools look at that in a negative light?

Also, I plan on taking the LSAT next September (2013) to apply for law school in 2014. I should have graduated in 2012 so this puts me a total of two years behind. As far as the major I have a couple of options and am wondering what would be the best way to go. I keep asking multiple Professors/Advisors and end up hearing the same thing...It depends on how long you want to be here.

Option One- Double Major in Honors Psychology and Political Science with Minor in Biology (would grad in May 2013, but can't take LSAT till that following September therefore still two years behind but completed undergrad in 5 years)

Option Two- Dual Degree- Bachelor of Arts in Honors Psychology with minor in Biology and a second Bachelor of Arts in Political Science. This would take one semester longer (would have to go the following fall and grad in december of 2013) but I would have two degrees. Is it worth it? I still have to wait to take the LSAT, but im not sure if they look at how much time it takes to get the degrees.

Option Three-Dual Degree- Bachelor of Science* in Honors Psychology with minor in Biology and a second Bachelor of Arts in political Science. Here, instead of getting two arts degrees one would be Science. I was told by someone that BS is valued a little higher becuase of the extra math and science classes.

Overall, the dual degrees will take longer, but i dont want to rush and take this septembers LSAT so its either stay in school or have the year off in between. Are Dual Degrees better or not as good as the double major and minor all on one?