US perm resident, International UG

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
jmjm

US perm resident, International UG

Postby jmjm » Mon Aug 20, 2012 3:25 am

I am a US permanent resident (with foreign citizenship) who did UG in my home country followed by master's in US. I have lived and worked in US for more than a decade.

Will I be seen as an international (from diversity point of view) or a urm? Registering on lsac.org or CAS for transcript translation asks me to specify whether I want my ethnicity to be reported to LSs. Does reporting ethnicity help internationals and can I change this option from what I filled in during registration of account at lsac.org?

Reading from some posts on this forum, it seems transcript evaluation for foreign UG sometimes produces unexpected results. My ug, a foreign institution that is listed on the CAS foreign ug list, grades on a tougher curve than the US institutes.

Is there any way I can find out in advance the manner in which CAS will handle my UG transcript and thus the evaluation it would provide should I have it sent?

thank you.
Last edited by jmjm on Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

AntipodeanPhil

Re: US perm resident, International UG

Postby AntipodeanPhil » Mon Aug 20, 2012 7:51 am

You will not be seen as a URM. You will not get the URM bump that people talk about in these forums. Law schools do like diversity, but that will only help you a very little.

You should report your ethnicity, but schools will work it out anyway.

The most important difference between domestic applicants and international students is that international students are not given GPAs by LSAC. Instead, their transcripts are given one of four evaluations (superior; above average; average; below average). Yale, Stanford, and Harvard generally only consider "superior" evaluations, but an "above average" should be fine for the rest of the top 14 schools.