Advice For An Undergraduate Student

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Huey Freeman

Advice For An Undergraduate Student

Postby Huey Freeman » Sun Aug 19, 2012 2:44 pm

Thanks guys
Last edited by Huey Freeman on Fri Jan 11, 2013 11:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

fatduck

Re: Advice For An Undergraduate Student

Postby fatduck » Sun Aug 19, 2012 2:50 pm

i have a similar degree (ECE) and the mixed degree has played well in interviews so far. i would do anything you can to get your overall gpa up, though, even if it means staying in school longer (you're on HOPE, i assume). a sub-3.0 gpa is going to make for an uphill battle, even with an EE degree from GTech.

L’Étranger

Postby L’Étranger » Sun Aug 19, 2012 2:58 pm

Much of what you posted is actually spot-on. Engineering and particularly EE is a HUGE boost for IP, and at least here on the west coast that opens up a lot of jobs in SV and SD that are unavailable to non-engineer/non-science people. Computer engineering is probably just as desirable as EE right now.

You are correct also that if your GPA isn't all-that the T14 becomes more difficult to obtain regardless of difficulty of major or grade inflation. Schools want to keep their gap avg up for the USNWR rankings and those don't take those factors into account.

All that being said, as a freshman, why not pick a major that you like? To me, that would seem like a good step towards ensuring success, and if it starts out rough you can always switch.

honeybadger12

Postby honeybadger12 » Sun Aug 19, 2012 3:00 pm

Agree with above. TLS consensus is no buffer for a tough major. You're right that GPA is enormously important, but it's hard for me to recommend switching out of a major you have a passion for at a place you'll get a top-notch education. My advice is to stay in engineering and get a four point :wink:

fatduck

Postby fatduck » Sun Aug 19, 2012 3:15 pm