Is this soft worth it?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Lock74

Is this soft worth it?

Postby Lock74 » Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:13 pm

I applied for a peer mentor position, which entails being a mentor for incoming freshmen and working with my university’s freshmen transition program. The position requires me to help with orientation and put in two hours a week in our freshmen introduction class. By being awarded the position, I was also given a small scholarship. The problem is that my university has a cap on the overall scholarship amount at full tuition plus room and board. I am currently at this full amount and planned to use the small scholarship from the mentor position to cover books and fees. I am also a student athlete and I am currently prepping for taking the LSAT in February. Is this soft worth it without the scholarship? Basically I would be working for free and the only benefit would be to bolster my resume/apps. Should I drop it and use the extra two hours a week for prep/other classes?

Samara

Re: Is this soft worth it?

Postby Samara » Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:19 pm

Negligible impact, if even that. The book money is more valuable than the app boost.

JetsFan1990

Postby JetsFan1990 » Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:22 pm

I did a similar thing (we called it orientation leader or something like that) in undergrad. I regret wasting my time, and I didn't even list it on my resume when I applied to LS.

LegalMikey

Postby LegalMikey » Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:54 pm

Maybe not, but mentoring people might be fulfilling. Do it if you want to.

bananabanana

Postby bananabanana » Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:55 pm

I think it is different. I would personally go for it. I think it all comes down to how you articulate it.

bp shinners

Postby bp shinners » Tue Aug 14, 2012 3:58 pm

bananabanana wrote:I think it all comes down to how you articulate it.