Community College Woes, anyone else in the same boat?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
bchirco

Community College Woes, anyone else in the same boat?

Postby bchirco » Wed Aug 08, 2012 12:02 pm

Hey All,

I have been recently going through major stages of depression lately regarding my LSAC GPA. I started community college when I was 17 right after I graduated highschool and had no idea what I was doing (2 Fs - which I retook, 4 Ws, and a couple of Cs). I quit for a little while and went back when I was 22 (when I realized I wanted to practice law) and got nothing but A's and B's. I went to UCSD from there and got a 3.65 over all GPA, was president of student council, volunteered, held a management based job etc.

It wasn't until I saw my Prelaw advisor at UCSD that I realized that the LSAC takes ALL undergrad courses. That 3 unit Weight training class that I thought didn't matter and got a C in...worth as much as any 3 unit class at UCSD GPA wise. Not only that, they will factor in those two F Grades even though they were repeated. EF. EM. EL. To top it off, my community college ONLY gave A's B's C's and F's NO + or -, for ex B+=B on transcript (so those 88% in classes which should be a 3.3 in LSACs eyes are 3.0s) AND UCSD Poli Sci Does NOT give A+'s, which LSAC allows as 4.3.

Now I'm 27, working fulltime and studying for nearly 5 hours a day for the LSAT in October to help offset my atrocious 3.15 LSAC GPA and have any shot at all in a Top 20 let alone a Top 30 however, I'm only getting 163's on PTs atm. :(

Anyone else in my same boat or share my woeful sentiments? Are we screwed?

Sorry for the pity story :( I just havent vented it to anyone.

Lincoln

Re: Community College Woes, anyone else in the same boat?

Postby Lincoln » Wed Aug 08, 2012 12:17 pm