Letter of Recommendation- already graduated. need help

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
senorhosh

Letter of Recommendation- already graduated. need help

Postby senorhosh » Tue Aug 07, 2012 1:13 pm

I went to a large university. Rarely went to OH, and if I did, it was for a science class (already asked two science professors. They said they weren't comfortable writing for something outside of science. One of them wrote me a LOR before too so I don't think it was my performance).

I'm probably looking at generic LORs, which I'm ok with at this point. I graduated already so I would have to email them.

I emailed about 4 nonscience professors that I took 1-2 classes in and got an A.
It's been a while since I took some of their classes. They probably forgot who I was or never knew in the first place. I haven't gotten a response yet but it's only been a couple days. Anyone know how long it usually takes for professors to respond for something like this during the summer?

Anyone have experience with this? I would obviously go in person but I am no longer in the area and most of them aren't even in their office at this time.
Any sort of help or tip would be great.
Otherwise..... I'm mass mailing. haha.

tigershark

Re: Letter of Recommendation- already graduated. need help

Postby tigershark » Tue Aug 07, 2012 1:21 pm

A lot of people on here say that LORs don't mean much, but I sort of disagree. I feel like having LORs (assuming they actually write them) from professors who never knew you in the first place/didn't know you well enough to remember you isn't a great idea.

How many years have you been out of undergrad? Maybe you can get one from a boss or something like that.