T14 Legacy - Does it exist? Will it help my chances? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Mr. Frodo

Bronze

T14 Legacy - Does it exist? Will it help my chances?

Post by Mr. Frodo » Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:57 am

My sister is a student at UPenn (Chem Engineering), and is going into her third year. Being a Drexel student myself (Civil Engineering), and due to the fact that Penn and Drexel seem to have a good relationship with each other, are my chances of admission increased at all, solely due to the fact my sister is there?

moonman157

Silver

Re: T14 Legacy - Does it exist? Will it help my chances?

Post by moonman157 » Mon Aug 06, 2012 11:04 am

No

Nova

Platinum

Post by Nova » Mon Aug 06, 2012 11:04 am

moonman157 wrote:No

sambeber

Bronze

Post by sambeber » Mon Aug 06, 2012 11:07 am

Nova wrote:
moonman157 wrote:No

Aberzombie1892

Gold

Post by Aberzombie1892 » Mon Aug 06, 2012 11:09 am

Your situation isn't even a real legacy situation to begin with.

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

sambeber

Bronze

Post by sambeber » Mon Aug 06, 2012 11:12 am

Aberzombie1892 wrote:Your situation isn't even a real legacy situation to begin with.
But... they both majored in engineering, and they're both in Philadelphia. That should help, right? I mean, how many brother/sister Philadelphia-area engineers can there be?

Q.E.D.: Legacy.

Mr. Frodo

Bronze

Post by Mr. Frodo » Mon Aug 06, 2012 11:18 am

Lol, I know its not "true" legacy, but then why do most college applications ask if you have/had a family member that goes/went there?

Guess law school apps don't have this question?

AntipodeanPhil

Silver

Post by AntipodeanPhil » Mon Aug 06, 2012 11:28 am

Mr. Frodo wrote:Lol, I know its not "true" legacy, but then why do most college applications ask if you have/had a family member that goes/went there?