What should I do? Apply for 2013 or wait?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

What should I do? Apply for 2013 or wait?

Postby MGoZete » Thu Aug 02, 2012 10:50 pm

Here's the situation: Presently have 3.4 GPA and will sit for the October LSAT. Presently testing in the low 160s, but I'm working hard to raise that. Putting in 4 hours a day and will end up taking 30+ LSATs before it's all said and done. I attend a big university and I think I'm going to have some trouble getting LoRs. I wasn't wise in my early years of undergrad and didn't reach out to Profs during office hours and the last really good relationships I had with grad student instructors was 2 years ago when I was a sophomore. I did extremely well (As) in two of those courses sophomore year where I had a fairly good relationship with TAs, but nothing beyond classroom interaction and doing well on exams, papers, etc.

Come the fall, I'll be taking 2 courses with a professor who I had for a small sized class last semester. I did okay in the class (B+), but I don't think she knows me too well or has a good enough opinion of me to write a great rec. Fall 2012, I'll have her for another small upper level course and a lecture based course as well. I'm afraid this will end up being a lukewarm rec. Also in the upcoming fall term, I'll be taking another small upper level course with professor who I previously had, but he probably doesn't know I exist. I did well (A-) in his previous class sophomore year. I was planning on gunning the three classes I have in the fall (going to office hours, putting more effort than I ever have) with the hopes that I get a decent LoR from both profs just before the 2012 is done.