Unique situation on Law School admisison

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
crazyintel

Unique situation on Law School admisison

Postby crazyintel » Sat Jul 28, 2012 11:50 pm

Ok guys I am in what I think is a unique situation.

I'll start off with the positive.
-I go to Yale
-I got a 178 on the June LSAT
-I am a veteran (joined in '08, did a tour in Iraq)
-I'll have some sweet letters of recommendation

Now for the negative.
- My GPA is 2.63 (will be ~2.71 at graduation in DEC)

Some more info, GPA is 2.99 within my major. Since I returned from my deployment I have maintained a 3.25 (this is over the last 3 semesters)

So that being said, what kind of school am I looking at for Law School? What will my "reach" schools be?

Any steps you think I should/could take to make myself a better applicant, i.e. including an addendum on the GPA?

Tom Joad

Re: Unique situation on Law School admisison

Postby Tom Joad » Sat Jul 28, 2012 11:54 pm

Military is a great soft so I don't know if there is much you can do to downplay your GPA. Working after college for a few years could help some.

Is there any compelling reason why your GPA is so low? If so you should write a GPA addendum when you apply. Try to think of some believable, good reason because your GPA is shit and your LSAT is the opposite of shit, but you know that.

I would just apply to all the T14 and see what happens. I think samara wrote an excellent guide for splitters (you are what is called a splitter if you didn't know).

Any specific career goals?

Yukos

Postby Yukos » Sat Jul 28, 2012 11:54 pm

crazyintel wrote:Ok guys I am in what I think is a unique situation.

I'll start off with the positive.
-I go to Yale
-I got a 178 on the June LSAT
-I am a veteran (joined in '08, did a tour in Iraq)
-I'll have some sweet letters of recommendation

Now for the negative.
- My GPA is 2.63 (will be ~2.71 at graduation in DEC)