Reapplying..coping with a year off? No job

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
UDFlyers90

Reapplying..coping with a year off? No job

Postby UDFlyers90 » Thu Jul 26, 2012 10:59 pm

I realize this may come off as a pity party and I apologize but I did not receive admission to any school that I feel is worth going to with my stats (Applied this past cycle with 3.05ish gpa, will have 3.2 when I reapply and have a 176 LSAT) and am actually taking the TLS advice and taking a year off and reapplying this fall. My problem is I just recently withdrew from WashU (Think in the last three weeks) and as I intended on enrolling in law school right after graduation from ug I am currently at a loss of what to do/how to cope with the reality of the next 12 months of my life.

I suppose I have a plethora of questions on how am I supposed to handle this, but I'll start by asking has anyone else actually stared down the barrel of this gun before? I have a poli sci degree with a 3.08 gpa (my lsac gpa is boosted from community college courses) and I don't think this exactly screams "hire him" to many employers. In all likelihood I will be working a job that I could have gotten with a high school diploma and this thought really depresses me. (I have a lot of time to think about it right now since I literally have no plans for the next 12 months) On top of this, most of my friends and family are aware that I was applying to law school and did very well on the lsat and I feel like people are going to be perplexed at how I went from planning to attend a relatively impressive school in the fall to working at a best buy or verizon store. Other than keeping my eyes on the long term prize, how the hell am I suppose to deal with this for the next year? Did I make the right decision to forgo law school for a year even though I will essentially be doing nothing with my life for the next 12 months or is said advice more meant for those applicants who have tangible back up plan