Cost/benefit of waiting a year v. applying right our of UG

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
whippersnappery

Cost/benefit of waiting a year v. applying right our of UG

Postby whippersnappery » Tue Jul 24, 2012 2:46 pm

I really want to go to a T-14 school, preferably high in the T-14. I am also especially interested in PI work. I took the LSAT in June at got 172. My LSAC GPA is around a 3.79, but substantial upward trend (darn that B freshman year!). Softs: some work experience, travel, volunteer, fellowships, leadership on campus, etc... I am a rising senior in undergrad. My question is two-fold: am I disadvantaged applying directly out of undergrad for T-14 schools? And, would it be better to delay a year to raise my LSAC GPA to somewhere around a 3.82 and apply in the next cycle? I would really like to go straight away, but I don´t want to feel like I have to settle in order to do that.

fatduck

Re: Cost/benefit of waiting a year v. applying right our of UG

Postby fatduck » Tue Jul 24, 2012 2:49 pm

depends what you're going to do during your year off, but why not apply and see what happens? and retake while you're at it.

whippersnappery

Postby whippersnappery » Tue Jul 24, 2012 2:56 pm

fatduck wrote:depends what you're going to do during your year off, but why not apply and see what happens? and retake while you're at it.

Do law schools look down at re-applications? As in, ¨oh, she already applied, and we said no, so we won´t really bother to give her the same consideration again¨ or is it a clean slate?

Ozymandias

Postby Ozymandias » Tue Jul 24, 2012 2:58 pm