Cooley Law Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
SplitOrBust

New

Cooley Law

Post by SplitOrBust » Sun Jul 22, 2012 1:45 am

Hello all. I created this account for some advice. I went to a private university in Michigan but heavily underperformed with a 2.6 gpa. I studied for a 3-5 months for the LSAT in hopes for t14, to my dismay, I got a 149. I took it two more times and ended with a 150.

I want to practice, I don't care how much I make but I want to work in Michigan. Every school besides Cooley rejected me. I applied to Cornell, GULC ect. Cooley has not offered me a scholarship.

I just got off the waitlist. Should I attend Cooley? My Law school debt and UG debt will total 380k.

Thank you so much

Ded Precedent

Silver

Re: Cooley Law

Post by Ded Precedent » Sun Jul 22, 2012 1:52 am

Least creative flame ever?

barestin

New

Post by barestin » Sun Jul 22, 2012 1:53 am

Yes.

SplitOrBust

New

Post by SplitOrBust » Sun Jul 22, 2012 1:54 am

Ded Precedent wrote:Least creative flame ever?
sorry but I'm afraid not. I'm not sitting here looking for big law. I am honest. that chance came and passed with my stats. Now, I just want to give to the community but the debt seems so overwhelming

KevinP

Silver

Post by KevinP » Sun Jul 22, 2012 2:12 am

Schools like Cooley prey on people such as yourself. That is, Cooley sells you on the idea that you won't get a biglaw job from Cooley, but that you will still get a legal job, such as helping people. The problem is that there aren't enough legal jobs, and public interest jobs are more competitive than biglaw jobs.

Likely outcomes from Cooley:
End up in a non-legal job with six figures of debt.
End up unemployed.

Attending Cooley at sticker price is an objectively irrational decision, no matter how much you want to be a lawyer.
Don't go.

Sources:
--LinkRemoved--
http://employmentsummary.abaquestionnaire.org/
http://online.wsj.com/article/SB1000142 ... 58142.html