Omitting Menial College Jobs Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
RSterling

Bronze

Omitting Menial College Jobs

Post by RSterling » Thu Jul 19, 2012 1:14 pm

I worked for about 11 months at a coffee shop my senior year of college. I graduated from college in December 2010 but since I finished early I stayed in my college town through the summer and worked at the coffee shop until while I worked on my post-grad plans (applying for jobs & deciding whether to go to law school that fall).

I should probably include this dumb job on my resume right? Otherwise my next job (which is much more meaninful) is in November 2011. That seems to be too much of a gap.

JohnV

Bronze

Re: Omitting Menial College Jobs

Post by JohnV » Thu Jul 19, 2012 2:23 pm

Why not? Money is money, time is time, it shows that you weren't just sitting in your room getting high while your parents gave you every dime you had. Jobs don't have to be prestigious or impressive to be useful. I worked construction for a summer. Even though that experience probably won't be applicable to anything I do in the future, I'll still put it on to show I have a diverse work history, don't waste time, etc etc.

Titleist

Silver

Post by Titleist » Thu Jul 19, 2012 5:47 pm

I think since it is recent you should add it. However, I did not add various summer jobs I had in high school such as Best Buy or working at a grocery store. But I added all jobs I had during UG.

nickb285

Silver

Post by nickb285 » Thu Jul 19, 2012 5:48 pm

Last edited by nickb285 on Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bobbyh1919

Silver

Post by bobbyh1919 » Thu Jul 19, 2012 5:58 pm

nickb285 wrote:Appearing to have worked a crap job > appearing to have been unemployed since graduation.

This. I just wouldn't include any jobs that you haven't worked at since high school.

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

RSterling

Bronze